top of page
Madrid

If you enjoyed this website, check out the https://blogs.umass.edu/spanportie/ to see more about being a Spanish/Portuguese major!

Class of 2019

Blog: Quote
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureAdvice for Abroad

When Going Abroad Goes Bad

So you’ve filed the paperwork, payed the enrollment fees, found an apartment, and now you are on your way out of the country for an educational experience like no other. But, something isn’t quite right when you get there. Something your landlord said you can’t seem to shake for some reason, or your room not looking like it did in the photo. Maybe it’s the issues you’ve been having with enrolling in classes? Either way, wonderland is crumbling and you are unsure of what to do.

In this post I want to talk to you about what to do when your time abroad takes a turn for the worst. It takes a lot of courage to leave one’s home, family and friends to travel the world in order to further your studies and expand your world view. It also takes a lot of courage to admit it’s not working out. Everyone feels lonely and out of place from time to time when abroad, it takes time to adjust oneself to a different culture and environment, but it’s when those feelings stem from concrete issues that maybe it’s time to consider a change. When I studied abroad in South America I was so excited to improve my Spanish and work on learning my trade as a translator, that I overlooked some red flags after my arrival.

Travel is travel, there is gonna be hiccups, but when deciding on a place to live for extended periods of time, it is essential to do a lot of research before agreeing to anything, even if its recommended by the university. I thought I was going to be staying in a lovely little “residencia” (apartment housing geared toward students) with a large patio area. When I arrived I found a house with no real roof, a floor of carpet over mason rock, and mold. So. Much. Mold.

Chalking up those issues to being homesick, I considered the house “quaint” despite the hefty rent that came with it. So ignoring those red flags, reality would soon hit me upside the head with an even bigger red flag. Partner universities, in a perfect world, would be able to get you into all the classes you need using the info you give them from your home university. But that’s not always the case. You need to advocate for yourself and your skills! Which is a wonderful life skill! However, in my case advocacy only did so much. My particular university had special policies that I was not made aware of until I was attending classes, when they told me via email I might not be able to take said classes.



Me reading that email

Luckily, I was surrounded by a plethora of wonderful international students that helped to lift my mood during that time, which is a good example of why having a good support system is so important.

If you find yourself in a similar situation there are a few options for you:

- Move: If you are able to move out without having to pay any extra fees, or if you can afford said fees, move. Being able to feel comfortable and safe where you live is essential to your mental health. Especially if there is a health hazard.

- Contact the university: The people in the IPO department are getting paid to make sure your academic experience goes well. They have the contacts and resources you need for making it through. When in doubt, email your program head.

- Leave: If your other options have run dry, you know you would be better off back home, and have the money, go home. It might feel like you are letting those that supported you down, but they were supporting a fulfilling time abroad and this wasn’t that. There are things that you can do until you can start back at school, you can get a job and make some money or take a night class at a community college. Maybe if you’re lucky you can go right back to school back home.

Going abroad is seen as this wonderful time in one’s life, and it truly can be, but every once in a while things will turn sour for someone. If you are able to remedy the situation then you are in for a great experience, if not it’s not the end of the world.

Your education comes first, and with how expensive university is you need to make hard decisions when it comes to what you are getting. As long as you give your best you can move forward with confidence.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Transfer Advice

Transferring back to UMass was one of the best decisions I've made my whole college career. At first, I came in to Amherst bright-eyed...

Comments


bottom of page